The thetas don’t lie

December 6, 2006

Shakira happened to be the subject of most of our examples when discussing A-movement.
shakira2.jpg
…”a position that is not a thematically marked position”…I’m *really* understanding this stuff…
shakira1.jpg
That seems more like it.
shakira3.jpg
Poor Shakira!!
shakira4.jpg
She IS??? I thought we’d only have to listen to her for like the next 3 years, maybe 4 and maybe again in 2017 for the inevitable Comeback Attempt, or something.
shakira5.jpg
Oh, and I thought it was just because she felt the beat rumbling through her bones.
shakira6.jpg
Yyyyeah, we got that already.
shakira7.jpg
Clarity!
shakira8.jpg
I don’t want to know what else goes on up there.
shakira10.jpg
…four days later…
shakira9.jpg
Annnd she’s finally got her theta-role assignment and her Case. Relief at last.

2 Responses to “The thetas don’t lie”

  1. Ed Says:

    The sad thing is that he’s been using the Shakira example for at least three years.

  2. The Ridger Says:

    I don’t know why, but this made me laugh hysterically. I’m so glad our new digs have separate offices, not cubicles.

    I’m still laughing, though not as loudly. Am I too geeky, or what?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

